The Official Website of Chengdu Municipal People’s Government
LOCATION: HOME > Visitors > Tourism Services

72-hour Visa-Free Transit Tourist Brochure--About 72-hour Visa-Free Transit Policy

Updated:2016-01-12  CLOSE

Since September 1, 2013, the port of entry of Chengdu has extended the 72-hour visa-free transit policy to citizens of a number of nations, making it the fourth Chinese city after Beijing, Shanghai and Guangzhou, and the first in western China, to be bestowed the convenient privilege.

The foreign nationals visa-free transit policy refers to the allowance of foreign nationals, in accordance with laws and relevant regulations of the transit country, to pass through the territory of the transit country en route to a third country without the need for the visa of the transit country, and to spend a short duration in the transit country. 45 countries are now granted the 72-hour Visa-Free Transit Policy in Chengdu: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Russia, UK, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Croatia, Serbia, Montenegro, Macedonia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Albania, USA, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Australia, New Zealand, South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, UAE and Qatar.

There are 21 regular international routes flying to and from Chengdu: Pakistan (Karachi), Netherlands (Amsterdam), India (Bangalore and Bombay), Malaysia (Kuala Lumpur), South Korea (Seoul), Singapore, Thailand (Bangkok and Phuket), Hong Kong, Taiwan (Taipei, Taichung and Kaohsiung), Macau, Japan (Tokyo), UAE (Abu Dhabi), Nepal (Katmandu), Maldives (Male), Vietnam (Hanoi), Australia (Melbourne) and Germany (Frankfurt).